The Kids’ Book Corner

Kids’ book reviews and tidbits from an indie bookseller.

PODCAST: When You Reach Me August 1, 2009

Filed under: Middle-Grade,Podcasts — kidsbookcorner @ 2:16 pm

When You Reach Me

by Rebecca Stead

(Wendy Lamb Books, hardcover, $15.99)

Recommended for ages 10+

I wrote a long blog post about this wonderful book here, but let me just say that it’s the best middle grade novel I’ve read all year.

Listen to the Podcast!

Buy this book from your local independent bookstore.

 

PODCAST: Shiver

Filed under: Podcasts,Young Adult — kidsbookcorner @ 2:12 pm

Shiver

by Maggie Stiefvater

(Scholastic Press, hardcover, $17.99)

Recommended for ages 14+

As I mentioned before, I loved this book. It’s the first book that might actually quench the thirst of Twilight fans!

Listen to the Podcast!

Buy this book from your local independent bookstore!

 

PODCAST: Uncle Andy’s Cats

Filed under: Picture Books,Podcasts — kidsbookcorner @ 2:06 pm

Uncle Andy’s Cats

by James Warhola

(Putnam Publishing Group, hardcover, $16.99)

Recommended for ages 3-5

This fun picture book from Andy Warhol’s nephew imagines how his famous cat paintings came to be.

James Warhola will be signing his books at Oblong Books & Music in Rhinebeck, NY on Saturday, August 15th from 2-4pm. More info…

Listen to the Podcast!

Buy this book from your local independent bookstore.

 

PODCAST: Nathan Abercrombie, Accidental Zombie: My Rotten Life

Filed under: Middle-Grade,Podcasts — kidsbookcorner @ 2:01 pm

Nathan Abercrombie, Accidental Zombie: My Rotten Life

by David Lubar

(Starscape Books, paperback, $5.99)

Recommended for ages 9+

This book is a hilarious romp for fans of Science Fair and Carl Hiaasen. Nathan Abercrombie gets a mysterious potion spilled on him that starts to turn him into a zombie! Can he and his friends get the antidote in time?

Listen to the Podcast!

Buy this book from your local independent bookseller.