The Kids’ Book Corner

Kids’ book reviews and tidbits from an indie bookseller.

Seattle Bookstore Tour: Part 3 October 7, 2009

Filed under: Bookstore Visits — kidsbookcorner @ 2:50 pm

First up, the Eagle Harbor Book Company! This Bainbridge Island independent recently rearranged its entire store, and it looks great. Manager Paul was on hand to give me a tour. Paul is a former president of the Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association (PNBA).

Staff Picks abound at Eagle Harbor. This extensive selection has an eye-catching display near the front of the store.

Staff Picks abound at Eagle Harbor. This extensive selection has an eye-catching display near the front of the store.

EagleHarbor2

I love the colorful letters announcing Eagle Harbor's Children's Section.

I love the colorful letters announcing Eagle Harbor's Children's Section.

We saved Seattle’s most fabled bookstore for last. That would be The Elliott Bay Book Company, of course! What a store.

The Elliott Bay Book Company

The Elliott Bay Book Company

Isn't it glorious?

Isn't it glorious?

I bought a handful of used books at Elliott Bay – I just couldn’t resist! I think I spent about 2 hours there… I could have stayed all day. I love bookstores!

(A note to Seattle bookstore fans: I know I forgot to visit Third Place Books. It was the last store on my schedule but an extra-long daytrip kept me from getting there. I’ll make sure to hit it on my next visit!)

 

Leave a Reply

